Going Forward

When we were both new...
When we were both new…

I wrote a while back about how my blog name was outdated. There are less pawprints and no pacifiers and now that I am writing here more regularly I think it’s time for an update. In all of my “bios” I write the same thing. “Wife, mama, fit addict, happy.” because to sum myself up, those words are the most important things to me. If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram you may notice I’ve tweaked my name on their as well. I started out as a Misfit Mama, as someone who felt I didn’t quite fit in anywhere and that made me feel alone. As I’ve grown as a mother and met many other amazing women in real life and here on the interwebs, I no longer feel so alone or out of place. There are a lot of women out there like me, I just had to open my circle a little wider. So you’ll notice that my header has changed as well. My link will remain the same for a while, but I may eventually switch that over too.

I love that life is constantly evolving. I love change, I embrace it, as bittersweet as it can be. When I started this blog it wasn’t about anything, just a sort-of diary that I used to record the words I would have forgotten other wise. Some of the posts make me cringe now, some of my words seem so silly and immature in what is really no time at all. I am happy with how time as changed me, how I have let it flow around me like water and smooth away the jagged edges of my past. It’ll continue to change me, to shape me, and I am looking forward to looking back on these times. To see my own words, to remember those feelings. What I miss the most about my past is always the feelings and not being able to  remember them very well. I am such a different person than I was 5, 10, 15 years ago, but I get to revisit her in the hundreds of notebook pages she left for me, in the millions of letters I leave scattered behind me like bread crumbs. Sometimes I get a little lost and words have always been my path back.

In the years to come I’ll look back on each of these posts and I’ll still be thinking the same thing, “Thanks for the memories.” There is no better gift to give yourself.

Going Forward

Leave a Reply

