Wordless Wednesday Wordplay

I try to think of things
Like back when I was poetry
And all of this was words and letters
strung together by tears and laughter and pain
and I felt and I felt and I felt,
Everything but better.

Back when the clouds looked like loose leaf paper
and my toes were a pen…

Now they’re dangling out of reach
Because I can’t go back to her, to then.

But with time brought happiness
And took with it pain (and words)
I’m reaching, stretching, pushing –
For what belongs to her.

I’ll catch them if I can
Pull them back to me
Breathe them deep into my soul.
Then I’ll plant them in my daughters heart
and quietly watch them grow.

Wordless Wednesday Wordplay

One thought on “Wordless Wednesday Wordplay

Leave a Reply

