It’s not you, it’s me. Really.

So it’s been a while… I kind of feel like the person who you like and even become friends with and then when you tell them you like them they stop talking to you and make things awkward when all they had to say was, “I’d rather just be friends” but instead they have to go and ruin everything with their suckiness. Except, I have a better excuse than “It’s not you, it’s me.”

I am PREGNANT. Yeay.

ย 

I know I told you I’d keep you updated, conception to crowning, but timing just worked out that the Hub and I could tell our parents IN PERSON so we had to keep it a secret. I am TERRIBLE at secrets, especially when I am THIS EXCITED about something and so I had to hide from you, from the blog, from Facebook, until I could be out with it.

So here are the details:

Apparently, my body was ready to baby make because holy hell it was fast. Yeay for that.

We got two negative tests, but I stuck to my “No blood, no tears.” mantra and waited. Then the cramps came. Then the acne. “That’s it.” I thought, and I gave up. Sort of. One day I felt very sick and hot, which is abnormal for me and definitely not on par with my regular menstrual symptoms so I told the Hub, “I’m going to test again in the morning, if it’s negative then three strikes I am out.” The next morning at 5:30 am the Hub woke up to a crazy woman, possibly with morning breath, screaming in his face, “WAKE UP HUB! IS THAT A LINE? GET UP AND TELL ME IF THERE IS A LINE!”

And there was, then I cried.

So far so good, I have a lot of cramping, but it’s not unusual so I don’t worry about it. I kept telling everyone I dodged the sickness so far, but after our plane rides back from Ohio, I don’t think I am going to shake this feeling. It’s like peeing when you are drunk, puke once and you have to do it a million times.

I am now in my 8th week, and other than telling you about the development, there really isn’t anything to tell, so here are some pictures instead of what Spawn looks like inside of me.

Development at 8 Weeks

ย 

Just for Fun, Twins

(Hub probably puked just now)

It’s not you, it’s me. Really.

6 thoughts on “It’s not you, it’s me. Really.

  1. LOL–I swear, every time I see my mother-in-law, she asks if I’m sure it’s not twins. Not ’cause I’m huge–she insisted up till about two weeks ago that I wasn’t even showing. I think she just likes the idea of Roger & me having twins–two grandkids for her to fawn over! I keep assuring her that there’s just one in there. And last time I gave both hubby & mother-in-law a biology lesson about how twins are more likely to run in the maternal line because both fraternal and identical kinds can be genetic for the mom–but identical twins can, as far as I know, come from the dad’s genes too. (I’m thankful that Roger’s twin brothers are fraternal.)

    And hey! Just a few more weeks till you get to hear that little heartbeat!

    1. M says:

      About four more weeks until our next appointment. Twins don’t run in my family, or Ross’ but I wouldn’t mind twins. My money is on having one little girl, so we’ll see. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Beth says:

    Congrats Ross & Melanie! That’s so exciting! I’m about a week ahead of you guys I believe ๐Ÿ™‚ I just wanted to say hi and tell you that I looove reading your blog- Melanie, you’re hilarious and you definitely have a gift for writing. ๐Ÿ™‚ it makes me wanna start writing one too!

    1. M says:

      Thank you, Beth! What a sweet compliment, you pretty much made my day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay for you, as well, how fun and exciting! Babies, babies, babies! EEEEE

Leave a Reply

